Discover your certification today Browse
Open page navigation
acquisitionasset managementauditingcompliancecost reductionfinancial managementIT managementnegotiationprocurementrisksourcing

IAITAM® has the only documented ITAM architecture along with the only established certification program recognized worldwide, including courseware and exams.

IT Asset Management (ITAM) is gaining widespread adoption around the globe. As IT expenditures continue to grow along with core IT functions becoming available as a service and as regulatory and licensing pressures continue to increase, individuals involved in IT Asset Management need to become more specialized and more skilled.

Having a complete IT Asset Repository better enables the Service Desk by providing contractual, financial, warranty, supplier, license, and lease details.

Certify your ability to:

  • Demonstrate of specialist knowledge of IT Asset Management.
  • Significantly reduce your organization's compliance risks and penalties associated with software audits.
  • Support significant cost savings and better management of IT assets - which is the second largest expenditure of most organizations.
  • Reduce the risks inherent with the growth of “Bring Your Own Device” (BYOD).
  • Ensure proper disposal of retired IT assets in a time of increased regulatory requirements.
  • Establish the optimum level of maintenance agreements, software license agreements and negotiate better pricing and terms.

IAITAM has been established for 13 years. Throughout this time it has built up high-level material within a Body of Knowledge spanning 13 volumes and 12 knowledge areas.

It’s Founder and President Barbara Rembiesa is globally recognized for her outstanding contribution to setting and raising standards for IT Asset Management. This is reflected in the unbeatable depth of knowledge IAITAM has acquired and built its prestigious certification program upon.

The IAITAM certification curriculum counts towards a Master’s Degree in IT Asset Management at the William Howard Taft University, which attests to the rigor of the certification material. 

Choose a level to get started



Change Analyst

Developing the wisdom and foresight needed to deliver change

View more
Skyscrapers during rainfall

Finance for Non-Financial Managers (FNFM)

Don't be confused by financial jargon - help your business realize its objectives

View more

The APMG Public-Private Partnerships Certification Program

Enhancing PPP performance across the globe

View more



What is IAITAM?

The International Association of Information Technology Asset Managers, Inc. (IAITAM) is the professional association for individuals and organizations involved in any aspect of IT Asset Management (ITAM), Software Asset Management (SAM), Hardware Asset Management, and the lifecycle processes supporting IT Asset Management in organizations of every size and industry across the globe.
There are six different courses with certification examinations available:-
ITAM Foundations
CHAMP: Certified Hardware Asset Management Professional
CITAD: Certification in IT Asset Disposition
CITAM: Certified IT Asset Manager
CMAM: Certified IT Asset Manager
CSAM: Certified Software Asset Manager

How can I train for the IAITAM examinations?

Training for IAITAM is available from the network of Accredited Training Organizations (ATOs) who are assessed and certified by APMG-International. The full list of IAITAM ATOs can be found at:
Only these organizations and registered partners/affiliates are authorized to deliver IAITAM training.

Do I have to receive training to sit the exam?

Yes, course attendance is mandatory and is the only way you can access the examination(s)

How do I sit the IAITAM examinations?

Examinations are made available to individuals upon completion of an IAITAM accredited training course. The examination is online and can be taken at any time within 7 days of completion of the course.

How much does it cost to sit the IAITAM examinations?

The cost of the examination is generally included in the course fee. Please check this with your course provider.

Are there any pre-requisites for the IAITAM examinations?

The only pre-requisite for all six of the IAITAM examinations is attendance on an accredited training course. For the CITAM course, it is recommended that individuals have previously attended the CSAM and CHAMP courses.

What are the main publications for the IAITAM certifications and where can I purchase them?

As part of the course package, your ATO will provide you with a manual and course workbook. These materials should be included in the course fee.

Which languages are the IAITAM examinations available in?

The examinations are available in English, Japanese and Polish.

How long will it take to learn the IAITAM material?

The courses for Foundations, CSAM, CHAMP, CITAD and CMAM are two days in duration. The CITAM course is 4 days. Attendance at an accredited training course should be sufficient time to learn the material, however please check with your course provider as to whether any additional study is required before or during the course.

What is the structure of the IAITAM examination?

The certification examinations are all multiple choice with 100 questions to be answered within the 3 hour time period.

How long is the IAITAM qualification valid for?

All individuals holding an IAITAM certificate must re-certify within 12 months of the date of the most recent certification held. The re-certification process is administered by IAITAM and they will contact you directly to give you notice that your certification is due to expire.

What happens if I let my examination certificates lapse?

Certifications that have expired within the last six months can be renewed by taking that certification exam at the regular exam price. Certifications that have expired more than six months ago can only be renewed by taking the full course along with successfully passing the respective certification exam at the course and exam's regular price.

When can I expect the results of my IAITAM examinations?

As the IAITAM exams are web-based, your result will be given to you, on-screen, once you have completed the exam.

Will I receive a certificate as proof that I have passed the IAITAM examination(s)?

IAITAM will issue certificates to all candidates as proof that they have passed the exam.

What is the pass mark for the IAITAM examinations?

Candidates must achieve 85/100 (85%) to pass.

What pass mark is required to be eligible to become an IAITAM trainer?

There is no elevated score requirement to become an IAITAM trainer.

How can I advertise myself as IAITAM qualified?

Candidates can use a designation after their name (e.g. John Smith CSAM).

How do I become an IAITAM approved trainer?

All IAITAM trainers must be "sponsored" by an IAITAM accredited training organization (ATO). Details of all IAITAM ATOs can be found at:
A trainer application must be submitted by the sponsoring ATO to their relevant APMG-International office.

How does my organization become an IAITAM Accredited Training Organization (ATO)?

An organization wishing to become an IAITAM ATO must first submit an application form to a regional APMG-International office. The organization will then be subject to APMG-International's ATO assessment process.